top of page

7 Thoughts That Can Contribute to Depression



You've been there...


When your mood suddenly swings without warning,


Suddenly, you're euphoric and optimistic, and the next, you're depressed and pessimistic.


You're unable to think clearly and have a hard time putting things into perspective. In its place, an intense desire for the pleasant vision of life that existed only a minute before has emerged.


Your surroundings seem and feel dismal and dreary, leaving you feeling lost and confused.


Despite the fact that you don't have a reason to feel this way, it still seems like it's happening.

This leads us to the following conclusion: you don't want to go back because you've been there before.

I can sympathize with your situation.


The idea of recovery is a fantasy.


It implies that once the depression has been cured, it is gone. Those who have made a full recovery, on the other hand, know better.

Getting Over Depression Doesn't Mean the Battle Is Over

Despite the fact that you've had the pleasure of experiencing a non-depressed life, you never want to experience the bitterness of despair ever again.


On the surface, the person seems to be having a bad day. It's the kind of thing that everyone goes through and quickly gets over with. Mood swings, on the other hand, may have substantial and long-lasting consequences for those who are depressed.


Following the sudden shift in mood, which is more than just "feeling bad but will snap out of it," a substantial shift in perspective occurs. For some people, life is a constant battle between looking at it through clean spectacles and dirty ones. Lethargy is the most dreaded of all guests, with low self-esteem and paralysis of the will.


This dismal attitude has to be avoided at all costs in order to prevent a repeat, which is not always possible.

Prevention of Depression Interfering with Your Life: What You Need to Know

It's because I used to think depressive disorders were all about one's "emotions," and thus I concentrated on mastering and managing those feelings. Until I found the relationship between mood mastery, mood mastery, and mood mastery, which gave me a new perspective on depression, I was unable to avoid relapses.

We should have faith. All of us feel things. We must behave in a responsible manner.

As a result, how do you manage your emotions? It's really not that hard. This is what it entails:

  • Identifying the onset, length, and severity of shifts in one's mood

  • Mood swings that last more than a few days are the most dangerous since they put a person at high risk of relapsing.

  • Knowing the consequences of succumbing to a sad mood is essential in motivating you to take action.

As a result, I'm constantly in a state of self-loathing and self-doubt when I'm in this circumstance. Once set in motion, a vicious cycle is difficult to break.
  • Preventing a depressive condition from persisting for an excessive amount of time.

  • Getting back to normal becomes more difficult the longer the illness persists.

  • It didn't always stop me from relapsing, but one of my go-to coping mechanisms was journaling about how I felt.


Avoid these 7 thoughts which contribute to DEPRESSION


All-or-Nothing

The tendency to assess ourselves in terms of absolutes—good or bad, winner or loser, brilliant or dumb—is at the core of perfectionism. Because I couldn't complete my homework and keep up with other things simultaneously, I failed to achieve the "optimal condition" in this situation.

Overgeneralization

The belief that if bad things happen once, they will happen again and over in the future. Reaffirming my belief that I'll always struggle with prioritization, I thought, "I did it again."

Sifter in the Mind's Eye

The tendency to focus on the negative aspects of a situation while overlooking the positive aspects. The fact that I had completed the task didn't stop me from obsessing over "how far behind I was."


The answer in the positive is ruled out.


As opposed to mind-filtering, this results in a negative experience instead of a positive one. The sensation of achievement from this time was replaced with a sense of failure for not being able to keep up with everything else because of the incorrect thinking already present in my head.

Making a Rash of Unfounded Predictions

In the absence of any evidence, we tend to assume the worst. The immediate assumption was that "I'll never be able to catch up," despite the fact that I had always been able to catch up in analogous past instances.


Both amplification and dilution are used.


Exaggerating our weaknesses while downplaying the successes we have achieved. My growing sense of failure was masked by my talents and abilities to overcome this and any other issues produced by my incapacity to stay up.

Emotional Reasoning

It's easy to get despondent when life is seen through the prism of hardship. My efforts to get up to speed were arduous and overwhelming until the wheels of warped thinking started turning.


In order to avoid the needless mind-noise generated by being unhappy with ourselves and the environment, I should have tried harder to remain awake." "I must do all in my power to get back on track." It wasn't long before I began thinking about these things.

Misleading and Erroneous Tagging

Self-labeling and -mislabeling is an ongoing process of self-deprecation. Self-deprecating terms like "loser," "not intelligent enough," and "can't do anything well" began to arise as a result.

Personalization

No obvious cause for the sense of responsibility and shame you're experiencing. No matter how much I wanted to justify my actions (delaying other tasks), the truth was that I despised myself and felt guilty about the predicament.

All of us have felt this way at one time or another in our lives. It's a way of life for those with depression, with one distortion feeding and maintaining the others, keeping us in an ever-changing state of mental turmoil.



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page